National Awards and Honors | A. James Clark School of Engineering, University of Maryland

                    National Academy of Engineering Founders Award Winners

                    C.D. Mote, Jr., Mechanical Engineering (NAE President & former UMD President)
                    John W. Morris, Civil and Environmental Engineering ?

                    National Academy of Engineering Members

                    UMD Tenured or Tenure-Track Faculty Who Are NAE Members

                    • John Anderson, Aerospace Engineering
                    • Gregory Baecher, Civil and Environmental Engineering
                    • Jacques Gansler, Civil and Environmental Engineering/Public Policy
                    • James E. Hubbard, Jr.,?Aerospace Engineering
                    • C.D. Mote, Jr., Mechanical Engineering
                    • Elaine Oran, Aerospace Engineering
                    • Ben Shneiderman, Computer Science/Institute for Systems Research
                    • Katepalli Sreenivasan, Mechanical Engineering

                    UMD Non-Tenure-Track Faculty Who Are NAE Members

                    • Howard Baum, Fire Protection Engineering
                    • James W. Dally, Mechanical Engineering
                    • George E. Dieter, Mechanical Engineering
                    • Millard S. Firebaugh, Mechanical Engineering
                    • Robert E. Fischell, Mechanical Engineering
                    • Gerald Galloway, Civil and Environmental Engineering
                    • Eugenia Kalnay, Civil and Environmental Engineering, Mechanical Engineering, and Meteorology
                    • Jeong H. Kim, Electrical and Computer Engineering
                    • Lyle Schwartz, Materials Science Engineering

                    Retired or Deceased NAE Members

                    • Howard Frank, Electrical and Computer Engineering (retired)
                    • Ali Mosleh, Mechanical Engineering (retired)
                    • Arthur E. Bergles?(1935-2014), Mechanical Engineering
                    • Robert W. Deutsch?(1924-2019), Bioengineering
                    • George Irwin?(1907-1998), Mechanical Engineering

                    National Medal of Technology and Innovation

                    Robert Fischell?(Bioengineering), 2016

                    Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching

                    Jim Wallace?(Mechanical Engineering), 2005 Professor of the Year for the State of Maryland