Dr. Marilyn Berman Pollans Outstanding Service Award for Staff | A. James Clark School of Engineering, University of Maryland

                    Meet Our 2018 Recipient

                    Terry Island
                    Associate Director,?Office of Undergraduate Advising & Academic Support

                    Demonstrating unwavering dedication and commitment to making a positive difference in students' lives, Terry Island expertly advises and shares her technical expertise with extremely large populations of undergraduate students in the college, including those located in Frostburg, Md., and the College of Southern Maryland.?Terry was co-creator of the C.A.R.E Program (Creating Academic Responsibility in Engineering), providing support to students on academic probation.??She has made a tremendous impact on all those working with her (faculty, staff and students) through her patient and encouraging interactions and enthusiasm.?

                    Past Recipients

                    • 2017: Jenna Bucci,?Director,?Office of Undergraduate Advising & Academic Support
                    • 2016:?Kerri Poppler, Associate Director for Graduate Studies, Mechanical Engineering
                    • 2015: Nicole Hollywood, Assistant Director, Fire Protection Engineering
                    • 2014: Bryan Quinn, Director, Electrical and Computer Engineering
                    • 2013: Tracy Chung, Director of Academic and Student Affairs, Fischell Department of Bioengineering
                    • 2012: Heidi Sauber, Engineering Co-Op and Career Services
                    • 2011: Kathy Lopresti, Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering
                    • 2010: Sharon Hodgson, Fire Protection Engineering
                    • 2009: Teresa Moore, Electrical and Computer Engineering
                    • 2008: Debra Densmore, Engineering Co-op and Career Services Office
                    • 2007: George Syrmos, Office of Advanced Engineering Education
                    • 2006: Eric Schurr, Maryland Technology Enterprise Institute
                    • 2005: Kathleen Hart, Materials Science and Engineering
                    • 2004: Al Santos, Civil and Environmental Engineering
                    • 2003: Janet Murphy, Engineering Dean's Office
                    • 2002: Daniel Carafelli, Maryland Technology Enterprise Institute
                    • 2001: Naji Hammad, Engineering Copy Center
                    • 2000: Nancy Swader, Electrical and Computer Engineering
                    • 1999: Bryan Hill, Aerospace Engineering
                    • 1998: Victoria Daul, Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering
                    • 1997: Rebecca Sarni, Aerospace Engineering
                    • 1996: Terry Chase, Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering
                    • 1995: Patricia Baker, Mechanical Engineering
                    • 1994: Terry Clark, Aerospace Engineering
                    • 1993: Maureen Meyer, Aerospace Engineering